Choking getting worse

My choking and coughing is getting worse. Any advise or suggestions are welcome. Thanks.

aturtle2,

Please read my post 'How to improve Slurring and choking' on page 2. This sure helped me with my choking.

I see this happening in my 7 year old daughter, too. Becoming rather problematic. We will be scheduling her for a swallow test. Will share when we find something.

Steve, I am not finding your page with suggestions…sorry, I am not very tech savvy…can you post a link?

For me, extra chewing, water or a liquid, concentration on what you’re eating - as much as possible, anyway, and an extreme amount of patience helps me…it takes me close to forever to eat.

Also, if it’s more of a social meal, ex: dinner party, I’ll eat something before-hand since I find it close to impossible to eat-swallow-talk and/or respond in a timely manner.

1 Like

Hi Mom of ataxic,

it is not very easy to arrive at the right link.

1 you take the words How to improve slurring and choking

2 copy and paste them into the searching field on the right upper corner. If this does not function, type the words again

3 the thread mentioned will be the second thread when you scroll down

4 In this thread which could be interesting for you as a whole, you go to page 2. There are up to now three pages, they are indicated on the end of the page. With a click you arrive at the second page of this thread and there you will find the posting of Steve.

Akita´

Dear Aturtle2, My speech therapist told me to drop my head (chin) down towards my chest when drinking liquids. Also, eat very slowly, take small bites, chew throughly and zip water in between swallowing, Something that I do that has helped me is, I chew two sticks of sugarless gum shortly after finishing a meal, particularly after the dinner meal, as for some reason, I sometimes start having a coughing fit then. I find keeping my throat wet with saliva (from chewing gum) helps me. ;o)

Thank you.