Dr wants me to try Diamox

Has anyone had any luck with Diamox?

Also known as Acetazolamide, in case that's helpful. (I have no experience of it myself).

HI,

my consultant tried me on Diamox last June and I haven't looked back, my attacks improved and I began to feel stronger. I have to admit that this week I have just had to up my dose but its been a miracle drug for me.

My attacks haven't stopped but they are now much easier to handle, you may get pins and needles though but they won't be to bad and will ease after a while.

Good luck x

Deb

Hi PG

My neuro put me on Diamox around 12 years ago. I have Cerebellar Ataxia of unknown origin. Although, I was also diagnosed with Haemochromatosis around 9 years ago and they strongly suspect that it was the high iron levels that may have damaged my brain. I have improved so much since my iron levels were reduced. The jury is still out on that one. I am sure Diamox has helped me. They had to play around with the dosage for a while, but once they had it "right", I was OK. I don't get the severe "attacks" like I used to. They are much easier to manage. It took me a little while to get used to being on it.....I seem to be supersensitive to all those drugs that are marked "Do not operate heavy machinery" etc...not that I was intending to LOL So for that reason they halved the initial dosage I was on. I also had pins and needles when I was first put on it....I have had no other side-effects. I hope it works for you.

Sincerely

TassieRose

PG,

I was on another forum and one poster was on Diamox for 16 to 18 months for improvement on his gait disorder. He

posted it didn't work for gait disorder.

Dear PG, From what I understand (?), Diamox is sometimes helpful for EA (Episodic Ataxia). As my ataxia is 24/7 of unknown cause, I've never been offered it. I sincerely hope Diamox helps you, if you're prescribed it! ;o)

Dear TassieRose,