Hiding Symptoms

Hello,

I am very new to all of this, my current doctor is saying Cerebellar Ataxia, but don't know if the symptoms are caused by something like a viral infection, Lyme, B-12, Paraneoplastic Syndrome, or sporadic or inherited reasons.

The not knowing is making it really hard for me to be comfortable with my family seeing all my symptoms. They look so worried when they see me with the rollator I just got- I can't stand the looks in their eyes. I don't have anything to tell them when they ask about what is going on--- I don't know if I will be dealing with this for months or for forever. I don't know if I'll get progressively better, stabalize or get much worse.

I try very hard to hide things like the tremors, the head and body twisting ( for lack of a better term ), the difficulty with breathing and swallowing, I try to speak clearly but I slur my words..

So I come up with ways to disguise it .For example, if my hand is shaking I will grab on to the chair arm or if I can tell that I am slurring badly I'll get someone else to talk (not hard in my family lol ), or I won't eat around people if I've been having a hard time swallowing. Except for the lack of balance, the other symptoms come and go throughout the day - much, much, much more pronounced with stress. Some of them are getting worse overall - in particular the breathing - I don't know how to hide that one.

I'm middle aged, and I know how much this is scaring my parents, and am not wanting to worry them, or my young adult kids- -- who have their own babies to worry about and care for. The only person who really knows about all of it is my husband and even with him I try to minimize for a lot of reasons. Does anyone else try to hide their symptoms ? And what is effective ?

Thanks for your help !

If it is progressive ataxia it WILL get worse. I used to try and hide my symptoms until my kids told me i was fooling no one