How do you know when it's time to quit your job and go on disability?

I see from the many profiles, some of us are still working and some of us are not. I’m not sure if that’s due to the disease, reaching retirement age or both. For those of you who left work and went on disability, how did you know when the time was right? The thought of making the decision feels like I’m giving up or I’m being lazy…..I know that I shouldn’t feel that way, but I have always been a very hard-working person.

My current position is responsible for more work than one person could possibly handle and comes with lots of stress. I also work four ten-hour days with three days off. (The ten-hour days turn into 12-hour days when I include working through my lunch hour and the time it takes me to drive to and from work.) My major issues are exhaustion, double vision and nystagmus. I have a sedentary supervisory job with lots of computer work. The double vision makes it more difficult and take longer to complete my work. I have tremor in my arms and legs, but also in my trunk, so just sitting up for periods of time is tiring. As it is now, I go straight to bed when I get home from work and then I get up and do the same thing again for four days. My first day off, I spend mostly lying down and sleeping trying to get rested from the previous four days, the second day is a bit better and I can get some housework done inbetween lying down for periods of time throughout the day. The third day, I feel almost back to “normal,” but then it’s back to work the next day and it starts all over again.