Wheelchair or 'portable seating' for child?

Hello, all. I am new here. My 6 year old was diagnosed with Episodic Ataxia Type 2 about three weeks ago. This diagnosis helps explain a lot of the concerns I have had in regards to my daughter's health. One thing I notice about her is that she really struggles with fatigue especially in heat. I am looking into getting her fitted for a mobility device....such as a portable chair. Not even sure what I am talking about since I am new to this.

My question is, for those of you that are a parent of a child with ataxia or as an adult with ataxia, have you discovered that this is something you need?

If we go on walks, or to the museum or a park, she quickly becomes tired and I am usually trying to figure out a way to get her home....carrying her, piggy backing or something. This just is not going to keep working for me as she continues to grow. I was hoping that she would 'out grow it' but with this diagnosis, I am figuring this is now our new way of life.

Im sorry I giggled at your story with thoughts of a 6 year old with a mobile chair. I have ataxia and I have kids. I feel for you. But at 6. I would think a wheel chair would be better. I do not think a 6 year old is ready for a mobile chair. But you know your daughter. And what she is ready for. Maybe You are thinking of a wheel chair. I was confused on a mobile chair. A wheel chair would be a good idea for her. Just my thought!

Lori

I agree with Lori! My best to you..,;o)

I have Ataxia.I cannot walk unaided now so I am looking at different devices for getting around.

Years ago I took walking for granted but now realise it is quite a skill.As a parent I understand the worry about children.

I would talk to your daughter’s neurologist and ask for recommendations. They can get some things covered by insurance too if the doctor writes a Rx for a device for her. Let the experts fit her to the right tool.

Hi,