Hello, My Name is Dave

Good day fellow ataxins’ My name is Dave, 44, I’m from Ontario, Canada. I have been battling some form of ataxia/MSA for several years now. (2009). I am a Creative Artist, who loves to paint and draw. I am divorced with 2 children, and have a girlfriend with 4 children. I am still walking although wit some assistance. Every day brings a new challenge with ataxia. However it is important to adapt, and find new ways to cope. For those of you suffering, no one can realize your plight, however, you must carry on. I have found that all too often it is easy to just give up, this is not how to do it. I have suffered through 2 bouts of depression (both times attempting suicide) I no longer have the ability to experience intimacy, I have lost my ability to work, I have lost many of my autonomic functions such as eliminating. I have experienced many slips, trips, and falls, I use to be an active individual; cycling, skiing etc. and now can’t, however, I have come to the conclusion that it is better to just keep going no matter what. I tire easily and become weak, although i just take more time to complete things.I have been stopped by the police for suspected public impairment. I now use a walking stick and wheelchair park to remove all doubt about my disability. I have surrounded myself with people who love and understand both professionals and friends. That is important. Hello, my name is Dave! I have ataxia.

1 Like

Hi Dave, welcome from Linda in Alberta. Thank you for sharing. We are all experiencing similar things and sharing does help, for me I do not feel so alone.

1 Like

Hi Dave, I’m so glad you seem to be in a more positive place after your depression.

1 Like