Hospital stay

I am new to the Support Network and would definitely like to hear from people, but the main reason I’m writing this is because I think my experience was one that a lot of people should keep in mind.

I’ll try and make it fairly quick, because it’s a long & complicated story.

I live in rural Canada. I ended up in ICU for 18 days and then I stayed longer on top of that in the general ward of the hospital for another week or so. I think it’s really important for all of us “with ataxia” that when you’re in a hospital or facility of any kind, then it’s imperative to remember that very few people have heard about the disease (doctors and nurses included). And with all the cutbacks and everything they have little time to try in any way to understand it. All that can be understood…

My biggest trouble with that is that I couldn’t talk and I couldn’t eat without help. Because I couldn’t talk, then I was at a real disadvantage. Just imagine it - so anyway I wanted as many people as possible to keep in mind how difficult it can be when you can’t speak clearly. Even the kindest people lose their patience with you. That’s the way it is …

3 Likes

BI’m so sorry, I really can’t imagine how much stress this must have caused you.
I’ve endured being a in-patient myself, and a friend had a very sad experience. The trouble is, we only come to recognise the problems that can occur after the event. It’s not likely that awareness re ataxia is going to happen overnight, so because we ourselves are now aware of possible difficulties, in future it might be in our own best interests to have our family doctor etc forewarn a hospital, if at all possible. Otherwise, take necessary printed info to ensure medical staff are aware of any specific difficulties. :smirk: xB

1 Like