How Does Ataxia Affect You?

Hello Everyone,

I'm a graduate student studying for a master's in speech-language pathology. In one my classes I'm working on a group project about ataxia. My professor encouraged us to find a support group about ataxia to find out how it feels to be affected by it.

If you don't mind sharing with me I'd love to know how this condition affects you and your loved ones. Anything you feel like sharing would greatly appreciated. I know sharing may be difficult for you, but I'm here as a friend to learn.

Hi Student,
I have Sporadic SCA. They seem to all be a bit diffrent. For me, I use my foods as medicine. I’m Gluten free, preservitive free refined sugar free and flour free, and I find it has helped my speach and all of my symtoms along with regular exercizing (focused movements) daily.

I tend to get light headed throught my day and work on not being stiff. With my speach and handwrighting I practice daily saying my voles and exaggerate everything I say. I really try not to speak fast, and I try to speak lower while focusing on projecting my voice. I’ve gotten into a habbit wich helps alot!
I really don’t have problems with speech anymore that anyone else can tell, only me! :0)

Hello

The 'only me' ending to Jeannies post is interesting, my voice coach and seemingly everyone tells me my voice is fine, I try to speak slowly and separate my syllables and try to slow everything down with my hand writing also, but my speech isn't good but only we know that;

I am 52 years old and walk with a stick, can't write very well and suffer with speech impairment, everything gets worse through the day and when stressed.

It also affects my core muscles causing me a multitude of problems you can work out for yourself.

Hope that helps

DBW

I feel sometimes I have lost everything
My job,my wife,my 3 kids and the old me!,
But that is just depression an ataxia symptom that is drug treatable
Onwards and upwards!
Regards
Barney