New Job

I am seeking opinion regarding alerting a potential new employer of my ataxic condition.

This is weird because I don't notice my balance and swaying or I have adapted. My wife has also grown to ignore it .I do get that unpleasant reminder now and then with a fall or other accident (cannot get out of my own way sometimes) and generally 1/2 speed of others. I am certain others notice (wonder what they say). Sometimes it can be real bad later in the day or low lighting, unfamiliar terrain etc...

Would you tell in advance?

Don't tell?

Explain if asked?

Do companies in the states get a hidden benefit by hiring disabled, tax or something?

Seeking advise

It's a tricky question for sure. I'm a teacher in the UK that has FA. Like you, my disability is not that noticeable and I am having a similar dilemma because despite what the law says I know that many headteachers would not employ me on a permanent basis because of what I may cost them in the long term. Of course they are not allowed to discriminate but that doesn't mean they won't! On the other hand, there are some parts of my job that would be too difficult for me to do, like orienteering or demonstrating PE so once in post, I have had to talk to heads about it and they have seemed surprised I didn't mention it before.

It really depends on what the job is and whether you can do it all without any difficulty. I would say, you are under no obligation to tell your employer, if you don't want to. I would go for the explain if asked option although be aware your employer would have a duty of care towards making sure you were safe and to make "reasonable adjustments" and that might be difficult if they didn't know!

Some info here about disability in US law here:

http://www.dol.gov/odep/pubs/fact/laws.htm

Good luck!

I was a teacher too.I did not have any obvious difficulties until about a year ago when my speech and mobility were iimpaired.