Part-time Wheelchair

My symptoms get drastically worse in the afternoons/evenings. I'm a student and I just walked back from my last class (around 5:30pm my time) and I think I could sleep for a week. I was walking so slowly and my bad leg was dragging. Now I'm exhausted.

Do any of you use a wheelchair for when you have to walk long distances or later in the days? As much as I would hate to succumb to a chair right now, I feel it might be necessary because I just cannot walk anywhere in the afternoons. If you do use a chair, what kind? Many thanks!

-Runner

Do whatever you have to, to make things easier for yourself.

I don't use a wheelchair...yet, so I can't advise you there.

I wonder if you have tried rollator with a seat. It really does help with conserving energy spent when struggling to walk unaided or even with a stick. A 3-wheeler is easier to 'park' out of the way but a 4-wheeler with seat is a real boon when you need to sit and rest.

I really admire you for persevering with classes as I know the afternoons can make you feel wiped out.

http://forum.livingwithataxia.org/forum/topics/part-time-wheelchair

Hi - It took me a very long time to accept that I needed to use a wheelchair in order for me not to further injure myself.

It was in-no-way easy to accept this fact, especially with the surrounding perceptions that others have of using a wheelchair - especially when using a wheelchair is lumped in with other deficits that have absolutely nothing to do with my particular obstacles, etc.

The main thing that I try to stay focused on is how my wheelchair provides me a sense of freedom. That probably sounds counter-intuitive, but let me explain.

Where I really need to concentrate and focus on not falling, a wheelchair provides stability that I need in order to simply talk and socialize in-person with others. With that stability and security that a wheelchair provides me comes the freedom.