Aches and pains

hello everyone. I know us Ataxians get various aches and pains but for the last three weeks I’ve had the most terrible pain in my left foot, especially when I bend it forwards. It feels like my foot is ripping open when I stretch it, just at the base of my big toe and stretching to the tip of it and goes as far back as the arch of my foot. The pain is like I’ve never felt before and throbs when relaxed so I have to bend it forward every so often to try and relieve some of the tension. Has anyone else experienced anything like this? I’ve had pins and needles for a while in this foot and wonder if it’s the start of something that im going to have to live with. Looking at the foot there is no redness or swelling and no visible problems

Hello Gail,
Sounds like "plantar fasciitis"Google it.

It is very painful! But it can be helped: there are simple exercises to stretch the tendon, especially on “youtube”.
I am not a doctor, so do not take my word for it, but check it out and see if it sounds like what you have. In my case, it was not related to ataxia. But I wonder if walking “funny” like we do, could cause it.
Good luck to you.

I would say not a symptom of any type of ataxia but possibly caused by coping with ataxia.

Sounds like a trapped nerve .. I have had sural nerve pain which is eased with baclofen but more recenty I have found that a vibration plate [exercise machine] has eased it more!

Probably best to get your GP to refer you to consultant, physiotherapist or chiropractor for expert opinion.

Hope you get relief soon as I know normal painkillers do not relieve nerve pain.

Patsy

Hello,