Gluten

Ive decided to give up my gluten reduced diet.Ive been on a gluten reduced diet for about 4months.But ive now found out that by cutting down on the gluten,ive been fiber deficient,and have now develped haemorroids with occasional constipation.most of the very foods that i like,such as wholemeal bread and cerials contain gluten.but by cutting those foods out,ive neglected my fiber intake.And ive not actually noticed any difference in my episodic ataxia type 2(EA2),since cutting the gluten down.I had a gluten tolerance test about 10months ago,which was negative,so i presume that going gluten free is not too relevant for me.it should be called a gluten and fiber free diet,because it seems to me that by cutting out gluten also means fiber drastically gets cut out too....

I have been on the gluten free diet for the last 2 1/2 months, but like you was not aware of the fiber issue. i have been eating a fair amount of walnuts. I'm no fiber expert but believe that nuts are a good source of fiber.

I have seen some improvement of my symptoms in the diet. My daily headaches are less severe, and my head is clearer than usual. Up to now, I've always had this very heavy, hangover sensation that saps my energy and makes it difficult to do much of anything. My energy is still very low, but my head is definitely clearer.

Good luck .

you could substitute wholemeal bread with gluten free bread which you can also get in white or brown varieties and there are other types of loaf like spelt.

Fruit and vegetables contain fibre too. I also tried it and made no difference to my ataxia. Exercise has worked best for mine.