Hey guys!

Hi, I am a PhD student living and studying in Glasgow, Scotland, UK. I am originally from Bradford, England. I discovered the forum and found it interesting so joined for some tips/suggestions on managing ataxia. My diagnosis is Spino-Cerebellar ataxia, would love to hear from others.

2 Likes

Glad to have you with us.

1 Like

xtremegamer! Welcome to our community. We’re glad that you’re here, but sorry that you have had to come looking for us.

One of the things that we recommend to people is that they do not use their real name online. Our forums are visible to google (or nobody would be able to find them). Your profile, however, can only be seen by another member, so putting your name there is less risky.

We’ve had people tracked by government and insurance, and one of our members on another site was denied disability payments because the government agency had noted that he was able to post online, therefore able to work. :roll_eyes: And even if you’re not scared of government or insurance there are always nosey neighbours.

I’m going to change the subject line to “Hello, I’m Haider”, and leave it to you to change it to whatever you’d like.

Again, xtremegamer, it’s great to have you here. Hang in there, and hang out with us…

Seenie from ModSupport

1 Like

Hi, welcome :slightly_smiling_face: I live in Newcastle, virtually around the corner :wink:

Nice! Any advice on effectively managing Ataxia?

Yes. It’s very important to keep exercising so as to keep your muscles and joints moving. Also it has been recommended that you take Vitamin D3 every day. Vitamin B12 has been known to help also. Of course if your doctor says no then it’s no. Even though these are OTC there might be some problems if you’re already taking something.

1 Like

:thinking: For reliable facts and advice…log onto www.ataxia.org.uk and www.ataxia.org
On the US site you can find a useful link to Medications for Ataxia Symptoms, Exercises and YouTube links.

1 Like