Re-gaining skills

So my symptoms are getting worse. By the end of last summer i started to need a cane to get around. I did not want to adventure to stores. I was afraid I was going to fall. I could barley make it to my car without help. Being a teacher I took the summer off. I’ve been riding my stationary bike for 45 minutes a day. I’ve started to use a walking stick instead of a cane, which is more beneficial than a cane. I just got back from a 20 minute walk around the neighborhood by myself. I am so happy!!

1 Like

Good for you!! Never give up. :+1:

:slightly_smiling_face: Sometimes symptoms seem to plateau, for better or worse, and then change again for no apparent reason. It could be that your body needed a complete rest. Being able to do regular exercise is a plus, and judging by your progress, it’s obviously beneficial :slightly_smiling_face:
:thinking: What do you mean, you’re using a walking stick rather than a cane.

A walking stick like a wizard or mountain man might use. The stick is about shoulder height. It helps be walk upright with with regular strides. The cane makes me take un-natural shorter steps and pulls me forward and causes me to be off balance. Watch this video https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=nl4zd9lfht4

Very good. Well done. BTW, where does one get a walking stick?

:thinking: This would be more like a Walking Staff, I’ve seen someone on Facebook use one.

Here’s a good rule on sizing: Standing with your arms at your side, the stick should be about 6 or 8 inches taller than your elbow. Pick a longer stick if you’ll be tackling steep terrain. If you’re really just planning on walking with your stick, a shorter one will do.

Generally, I use a walking stick that is similar to a cane, but with a rubber ferrule on the foot. I would agree that although this does help balance to some extent, it can make a person walk in a jerky fashion and be somewhat unstable.