Works for me

I take 4000IU of vitamin D3 every day. 2000 in the morning and 2000 in the evening. I’ve taken falls because of the Ataxia that should have broken bones but nothing bad (except my embarrassment) has happened. FYI, vitamin D3 helps build strong bones. I am not a doctor so I strongly suggest you talk to them first before taking anything.

7 Likes

Love your tips.

Do you have any tips about reducing slurring of speech?

Unfortunately, speech problems are a symptom of Ataxia. I also have that problem. I do remember reading something some years ago about how breathing properly does affect how we speak. Don’t know much more than that. :weary:

1 Like

I’ll try diaphragmatic breathing and I read (in this site) that core strengthening exercises help. Also beryl mentioned use it or lose it. So I’ll try reading aloud too. Let’s see…I’ll try to report back in a week.

3 Likes

Look at YouTube videos of original strength diaphragmatic breathing.

3 Likes

Many thanks for your excellent posts.

1 Like

The regular exercise that you do also builds bones plus D3 as a topper

2 Likes

I most certainly agree that exercise is the way to go. Only helps. Learned about D3 from the NAF.

2 Likes

Chas521, I definitely find my slurring improving today and I’m reporting after 1 day.
What I did

1. Read a journal ((New Yorker) aloud for 15 mins yesterday and today
  2. Found tongue exercises for clearer speech in YouTube and practiced some (not all) yesterday
    Keep your tips coming…
4 Likes

Many thanks for sharing your posts. We’re all very happy for you. :+1:

2 Likes

Has your speech continued to improve?