What's your opinion about exercise?

I’ve been thinking about this for a long time now. If you exercise on a regular basis and strengthen your muscles plus keep your joints fluid, will that help with your balance and equilibrium? I think so!

As been said here quite a few times, exercise is VERY important for our Ataxia. Although it is not a cure, it is important for the reasons stated above. I also believe that it helps psychologically. When you exercise endorphins are released, and I believe they help with easing your mind and thoughts on your current situation.

I’ve been exercising doing cardio and strength training for many years now. I’m not happy with my Ataxia at all but I believe it helps. When I don’t exercise my body knows it and I don’t feel very well. I don’t like that so I make sure that I exercise every day as an important part of my day.

What are your thoughts?

4 Likes

@Chas521 I couldn’t agree more though I have just recently started to be proactive with this condition. The endorphins absolutely give me a better sense of wellness after exercise. How do you stay at it consistent over years without slacking off?

Brandon,
Like Nike used to say, JUST DO IT!! If something like exercise might help then expect me to do it. That’s who I am. FYI, I’m 74.

EDIT: I’ve had Ataxia since I was 21.

1 Like

Wow Chas521 that’s about as long as I’ve been on earth. Was it inherited for you or just happened from stroke or trauma etc. ? I live in the states where any PROFESSIONAL physical therapy has been hampered. My sister gave me a balance board called 60up from England. The poles it came with were to shaky so i ordered the rigid ones. Still I can’t keep up w/ video. My brain and body have become so dependent on my arms rather than the legs. What routines do you do to help with standing movement without so much dependence on the hands grabbing something stable i.e. (walker.)? Thanking you for your response.